More Than $400,000 Awarded in McCloskey Competition

Published Saturday, April 28, 2018

More than $400,000 in cash and in-kind prizes were awarded to 17 regional teams at the 2018 McCloskey New Venture Competition on April 27, as part of the first-ever IDEA Week innovation festival celebration.

The $50,000 grand prize, which is given to teams founded by University of Notre Dame students or alumni, was split between Enlighten Mobility and SecῡrSpace. Enlighten Mobility is a medical device company that has embraced individuals who typically fall through the cracks of medical care. The organization is launching its first product, The Enlight Walker, which reestablishes healthy walking patterns for lower limb amputees the same day as the operation, dramatically decreasing the physiological decline and increasing rehabilitation speed.

SecῡrSpace is an online platform for booking parking and storage space for trucks, trailers and shipping containers. Through the platform, storage yards can market available space, while warehouses, distribution centers and other businesses with secure locations can list open lots and monetize underutilized property.

A new $50,000 award, the Startup South Bend-Elkhart/Elevate Ventures grand prize, was split between Figuro3D and Healthy Points. This award is given to top community-based teams. Figuro3D is a group of entrepreneurs, hardware engineers and programmers that believe capturing 3D images quickly leads to more innovative, more productive and more meaningful work. Their mission is to make 3D scanning as quick and simple as taking a picture.

Healthy Points is the first secure digital networking-based population health management tool that can enhance a health system’s effectiveness at modifying patient behaviors and increasing patient self-management.

A total of $266,000 was awarded as cash, and $143,000 was given as in-kind prizes, including banking, tax, legal and intellectual property support. In its 18th year, the competition drew 169 teams.

Along with a crowd of 600, final-round judges included: Daymond John, CEO of FUBU and co-star of ABC's Shark Tank; Matt Rogers, inventor of the Nest thermostat and engineer on the original Apple iPhone; Swati Mylavarapu, founder of Incite Labs, partner at Incite Ventures and former partner at Kleiner Perkins Caufield and Byers; Dan Peate, alumnus, founder and general partner of Peate Ventures; Mark Foley, alumnus and managing director at RWI Ventures; and Tracy Graham, alumnus and founder and managing principal of Graham Allen Partners.

For a complete summary of teams, award recipients & company descriptions

Source: IDEA Center News